#Foodie Butternut Soup

image

As winter is knocking on our doors, my kitchen has slowly but surely started to transform. I am making more soup than I normally would. One soup I’m loving is butternut soup. I was first introduced to this cuisine about two years ago while watching the food channel; watching Nigella to be precise. I then decided to try it out and I’ve never looked back. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do 🙂

Ingredients
1 (or more) medium butternut squash (cubed)
1 medium potatoes (per
butternut, cubed)
2 large onions (chopped roughly)
garlic (to suit taste)
3 tablespoons cumin
1.5 litres vegetable stock

Directions:
1. Saute onions and garlic and two
(heaped) tablespoons of Cumin in a little oil

2. Add butternut and potatoes and let them sweat for a while, approx
10mins then add stock and simmer until butternut and potatoes are soft

3. Puree until no lumps, or, mash well very well.

4. Add another tablespoon of Cumin and a large dash of milk then Salt and pepper to taste

5. Fresh Coriander to garnish

Leave a Reply

