The great commission

thCAA7JXG6

As the human race, we are born with an almost immediate realisation that there is more to our lives than what meets the eye. Some things are fairly easy to recognise, for example, being a female, one immediately recognises themselves as a mother or wife. But there is a greater purpose to our existence that brings more meaning to our lives once established. Now, it is impossible to be of the world and find meaning for your life; you can find what you love doing or being but it won’t be of any meaning until you add God into that mix. The reason for your existence is known by the one that created you, not the ones that conceived you. God, as the author of our lives, is the only one that can bring true meaning into your life. Now, back to purpose…

Purpose – the reason for which something is done or created or for which something exists.

Everyone has a purpose; however finding it can prove to be very difficult. As one gets older, living without the knowledge of your life’s purpose generates an incredible amount of frustration. Let me hasten to say that there may be a difference between your plan and your purpose. Everyone needs to have a plan; you finish high school and hopefully study further and thereafter find a job and begin to build your career. My plan was that by now I’d be working and living alone in a beautiful flat somewhere near the beach. I am currently unemployed (or, as my friend would say, on extended leave) and I live with my parents in my home town which is, by the way, land locked. That is my reality but that is not my Truth. My Truth is that I have many plans for my life and having delighted myself in the Lord, He is Faithful enough to grant me the desires of my heart; that is bringing my plans to pass. That is my Truth.

My definition of “purpose” is the one thing you could give up everything for and remain content and satisfied and happy and joyful. It is that thing that when your toes get crushed while doing it, you don’t grow weary and immediately turn away from it but rather continue doing it for it is your life’s meaning. I am so awe struck and so excited as I am writing this for the Lord has revealed something about purpose to me. I hope and pray that it truly comes out as powerful as I am getting it.

About a month ago I watched an incredible sermon by Joyce Meyer. She said something that I will forever carry in my heart. She said, and I’m paraphrasing this, that it has been a long time since the Lord has given her a word about her life; rather she is always receiving a word for the church and the ministry at large. When people ask her how she keeps afloat without a personal word she answers and says, “I do the last thing that God told me to do until He gives me a new word.” So I asked myself, “What is the last thing that the Lord asked me to do?” This happened about a month ago and since then, I have been getting the same answer; Go ye therefore and make disciples (Matthew 28:19-20). This answer has been getting louder and clearer as the days progressed. The great commission.

Matthew 28:19-20 (MSG)

Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name: Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of age.

 

As born again Christians, our purpose or the reason for our existence is encapsulated in the great commission. We were made to make disciples. Now hear this, it says disciples and not converts. That is why you will hear people saying that you can go through something for 30 years just so you can help someone in 30 minutes. Making disciples is a process. Now this is what got me on my knees; our purpose is meant to take us to our promised land right, so knowing that you were made to make disciples, you need to figure out what your mode of transport is going to be. That is, not everyone is going to be a pastor. Again let me hasten to say, you don’t have to be a pastor to make disciples, you just have to be a disciple yourself. So what do I mean when I say mode transport?

How are you, personally, going to make disciples? Some are apostles, some are evangelists and some are prophets. Some are teachers and some are pastors. What are you? The greatest challenge in trying to figure out what my “name” is, was in misunderstanding my transports working hours. What do I mean? Not being in full time ministry does not make you any less of a disciple maker. Being the CEO of a company does not make you any less of a disciple maker. Let me break this down. There is a man at our church, married with kids, and he is incredibly successful in business and in wealth. He is not in full time ministry but he serves the church as a Kingdom financer. He, along with many others, is a great help in making sure that, with regards to anything financial, the work of the Kingdom of God continues. Above and beyond that, he also evangelises. That is his mode of transport. Someone else’s mode of transport may be worship; they were born to make disciples through worship. You were born to make disciples, the question is, how?

The beauty that is in this commission is the promise of the Lords presence as we continue to not only tell people about the Lord but also train them in this way of life. Until I know for sure what my mode of transport is, I will continue to write as a means of letting people know about the Love that is God. Don’t sit and do absolutely nothing all in the name of waiting for God to commission you. Let Him find you in the Kingdoms field doing His work, whatever that may be. Be about God’s business. Be blessed.

2 thoughts on “The great commission

Leave a Reply

