The fear of not becoming

20141213_140550

What would you do if you knew you would not fail?

Dreams, goals, aspirations, desires; the fuel behind every human can be summed up in these. Every child, no matter how lavish or how distraught their upbringing was, every child has a dream. When I was in primary school I wanted to be a DJ and/or an entertainment journalist. I then changed that dream due to popular culture at the time and wanted to be a charted accountant. However that didn’t last long. My greatest passion and utmost skill and ability has always been in the English language. It fascinates me. It’s tricky and to a certain extent difficult which makes me love it all the more. Anyway that’s a story for another day.

For a greater part of my life, I’ve always been scared of falling short of what I want to become. I know what I want and I know how to get want I want but I’m scared of the disappointments and failures that I might come across while trying to get to where I want to be. But the thing is, every success story has a hand full of failure stories. Truth of the matter is that failure, though it may look like a stumbling block, is an opportunity to reassess and start over with a Clear Perspective. I wish I could somehow recondition myself in one moment and get rid of this unbecoming fear but it’s a process, a process that I’m finally letting myself go through. I’m 22 years old, there’s no going back. An amazingly wise woman that I have been privileged enough to know personally, Mrs Hermanas, once said that who you are (in terms of character) and what talents you have are a gift from God to you and what you become is your gift to God. I, therefore, owe it to God to become an incredibly awesome me and the same goes for you. With that said, I’m starting my year off on a good note, a hopeful and optimistic note. I wish you all the best for the year 2015 🙂

Leave a Reply

