Uncategorized

Procrastination – the ungovernable “a luta”

thCA1YXZMY

It’s 20:15 and I have set up camp in the toilet due to an unbridled level of diarrhoea (t.mi?). Uncharacteristically, I’ve decided to read an article about procrastination titled Why Procrastinators Procrastinate by Tim Urban. Not too far along the article, a string of words bring me to a halt.

“The thing that neither the dictionary nor fake procrastinators understand is that for a real procrastinator, procrastination isn’t optional-it’s something they don’t know how to not do.”

Being completely stunned by this I can’t help but think about an interview that Oprah Winfrey had with Russell Brand. While talking about Russell’s addiction to drugs, he mentioned (and I’m highly paraphrasing this) that as a global society, we need to get to a point where we no longer look at drug addicts with disgust but rather see them as people who are not well.

Now I know that the two struggles, drug addiction and procrastination, are not on par but the attitude behind them is. They both carry the sentiment of not knowing how to not do what they are doing. The sad part is that as the human race, we have come to perceive of this behaviour of continuously putting things off as an acceptable characteristic. The nonchalant attitude towards procrastination is not helping those that are caught up in it get out of it. Don’t get me wrong, I fully understand that socially, it is everyone’s individual responsibility to correct their own unbecoming behaviours but it wouldn’t hurt to give a disapproving grunt whenever someone casually mentions how much they procrastinate.

I procrastinate, a lot. Now this is not a casual statement, it’s a confession, so no grunting. I am well aware of the consequences of such a stronghold; because that’s what it really is, a stronghold. Had I not continued to put it off, I would have a fully functioning blog and an online magazine right now. But at the thought of working on both projects, I somehow find a way to distract myself. I am not well people. I think every procrastinator knows what to do to disassociate themselves from this mental block but at the end of the day, we end up putting that off too.

This group of people (not excluding myself) is often said to be lazy. Many argue that that isn’t true…but I agree. I agree because I know (here comes another confession) that I am pretty lazy. I’m a person of extreme opposite ends, if I am not very busy I tend to get very lazy. It’s like I get hit by a huge wave of disinclination to do anything and all rational decision making ceases to exist. This usually happens when I’ve found myself deep in thought…or just daydreaming really. Yes, to top it all off, I am a daydreamer. Again, I am not well lol. Those of you that know that I am a born again Christian are probably wondering which bible I’m reading because while there may not be much verses about procrastination, there are plenty about laziness.

 

Proverbs 13:4

The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

Proverbs 21:25

The desire of the sluggard kills him, for his hands refuse to labour.

The second verse hits home for I desire much but only find myself doing little. The decision to be better to yourself and get out of this hole can only come from you. Consider that I said to be better to yourself. Procrastinating hurts the procrastinator. It’s a mental form of self-inflicted pain. It’s an incredible issue and I’m trying to conquer it. Hopefully writing this is a step in the right direction. If only I could put off this diarrhoea though…

Standard

Leave a Reply

