Knowing Me

#TBP (Throw Back Post)

Wimpy[1]

 

Can I not play in dams when I have found my river

A while back my pastor preached about the narrow road and the broad road (Matthew 7:13) and how we ought to strive to travel on the narrow road and stick to it. Now that I think about it, the message was more personal – on my behalf – than I had thought. On my way home that very day, God made an illustration for me. Think of a piece of coal, right before you set it alight. If it could talk, I’m sure it would tell you that it was made to live (out of purpose) for a little while, burn and die. Now let’s break this down a little:

  • Live (out of purpose) for a little while

This period, for coal, begins when it is packaged and it ends when someone buys that bag of coal with the intention of putting them to use. This, for us, begins at birth and ends when you choose between the narrow road and the broad road. This is a time of growing, learning, realising and deciding. Living out of purpose is a floaty point of ones life. You know you exist but for what exactly is still a mystery. Everyone goes through this, for some it lasts longer than it does for others.

  • Burn

This is when the piece of fossil fuel lives out what it was made to. Shortly before you burn, you must have had an encounter with your purpose. This will help ease the process of burning so that when it gets too hot, you don’t regret anything but rather endure knowing that this is what you were born to do. You cannot burn if you don’t know what you are burning for. This is a point where you know that you know and therefore all these other things in your way lose significance. Recently I have been  listening to an Indie Jazz group from South Africa called The Muffinz. One of my favourite songs at the moment is The River. This song talks about finding your river, which could be anything but in their case, it is their love and passion for music. There’s a part that says, “I would fight for the river.” When you have found your God given purpose, you will fight for it if need be. Understand that a river is a mass of flowing water that provides not only for the animals and plants that it meets but also for the people around it. Your river must bless those around you because you are blessed to become a blessing. Moreover, when a coal burns, it burns. It does not pretend to be burning. It does not burn half heartedly. It does not burn with the hope that God will save it and give it another purpose in life. When you know your purpose, you should not need to be begged to live it out. When you know your purpose, you ought to do it with all your might. Soldiers who know and believe in what they are fighting for possess an ability to fight to their last breaths. Don’t turn your river into a dam. Burn.

  • Die

2 Timothy 4:7-9

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for His appearing.

In this portion of scripture, Paul encapsulates his purpose driven life, a life that has been thoroughly lived, a maximized life. Life, at some stage comes to an end. There is a level of peace that is gained in knowing that at the end of it all, a crown of righteousness will be waiting for you.

I am preaching to myself with every word that I type and my prayer is that this helps someone as much as it is helping me. Finding your river is a life changing experience. Embrace it. Burn. Burn for God, burn for your river.

Standard

One thought on “#TBP (Throw Back Post)

  1. Sivuyisiwe says:

    Perfect timing. I am reading a book on finding my purpose in life not just any purpose but the for my creation, for we were created by God for God’s own purpose.

    Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

